Global perspective. Clear attribution. Updated throughout the day.
Live desk Concise briefs from trusted publishers · Always follow the source for the full report
Markets
GBP/USD 1.3254 FrankfurterEUR/USD 1.1398 FrankfurterUSD/NGN 1,327.68 FrankfurterUSD/JPY 158.25 FrankfurterGold $4,286.20/oz Gold APISilver $64.42/oz Gold API
Breaking
Nigeria rally as Africa Cup of Nations qualifying campaign opens Punch NigeriaFirefighters contain blaze at Abuja gas outlet Punch NigeriaAkwa Ibom governor rejects claims of disrespect towards predecessor Punch NigeriaJigawa council launches vaccination drive for 3,105 livestock Punch NigeriaDelhi High Court rejects marital exception for sex with minor under POCSO The HinduAir Peace cites fuel shortage and sunset restriction for flight cancellation Premium TimesAt least 27 killed in separate shootings in Johannesburg and Cape Town Punch NigeriaWangchuk supports October protest over India election accountability The HinduPope Leo XIV to meet abuse survivors during Lourdes visit Punch NigeriaEkiti strengthens disease surveillance amid Ebola and diphtheria concerns Punch Nigeria
Scores
Monterey Bay FC v Lexington SC 2–3 American USL Championship · TheSportsDBNew Mexico United v Sacramento Republic 2–3 American USL Championship · TheSportsDBOakland Roots v Phoenix Rising 3–0 American USL Championship · TheSportsDB
Business

Odisha vigilance alleges ₹9.24 crore fraud in engineers’ office

Source: The Hindu · 27 Sep 2026, 09:04 UTC
Odisha vigilance alleges ₹9.24 crore fraud in engineers’ office
Image: The Hindu · original report

Odisha’s Vigilance Directorate says clerical staff and associates diverted ₹9.24 crore through false retirement and contingency bills at a Roads and Buildings office in Bhubaneswar. Authorities have recovered ₹3.96 crore, while four people were arrested for alleged collusion.

Odisha’s Vigilance Directorate says it has detected the alleged embezzlement of ₹9.24 crore from the office of the Superintending Engineer of the Roads and Buildings Division-I in Bhubaneswar. According to the directorate, the fraud occurred between the financial years 2022-23 and 2025-26. It has named section officer Banalata Mohanty and junior assistant Bibhudutta Nayak as the principal accused, alleging that they worked with unidentified associates.

The directorate said false sanction orders and bills were generated for provisional gratuity and unutilised leave salary in the names of retired employees. Other allegedly false claims were made against the office contingency fund. The bills were then processed through the Integrated Financial Management System, allowing government funds to be diverted.

Investigators said genuine bills contained the correct bank details of beneficiaries, while forged bills used account numbers belonging to relatives and acquaintances of the accused. In total, 77 bank accounts held by 48 people were allegedly used to receive the money. The accounts reportedly included those of Mohanty’s son, driver and associates, as well as relatives of Nayak.

The directorate said some account holders transferred money back to the main accused or withdrew cash and handed it over to them. Following the discovery of the alleged fraud and the start of an administrative inquiry, ₹3.96 crore of the misappropriated amount had been recovered, the directorate said. It did not specify how much remained outstanding.

Four people were arrested for alleged collusion with Mohanty and Nayak: colleagues Dipak Kumar Routray and Laxman Biswal, and data-entry operators Rajib Lochan Senapati and Soumya Ranjan Mohapatra. The directorate said ₹32.47 lakh had been credited to Routray’s account and ₹16.21 lakh to Biswal’s. Senapati’s account received ₹28.28 lakh, while Mohapatra’s received ₹35.69 lakh.

The source material did not state whether Mohanty and Nayak had been arrested or provide details of charges filed.

About this report
This independently written report is based on information supplied by the named publisher. Vertrix News has not independently verified the source report.
View the original source at The Hindu →