Armed forces submit recommendations as first Agniveer cohort nears exit

The Army, Navy and Air Force have sent recommendations to the Department of Military Affairs on improving implementation of the Agnipath recruitment scheme. The move comes as the first Agniveers, enrolled in 2023, approach the end of their four-year tenure. The Ministry of Defence has not disclosed the proposals.
The Army, Navy and Air Force have submitted recommendations on the implementation of the Agnipath scheme as the first batch of Agniveers approaches the end of its four-year engagement. A senior Ministry of Defence official confirmed that the three services had sent their suggestions to the Department of Military Affairs after gaining experience of recruiting, training and deploying Agniveers. A report containing the recommendations has been forwarded to the competent authority for consideration.
The official did not disclose the nature of the proposals. The first Agniveers enrolled under the scheme in 2023 are scheduled to complete their contractual tenure in October 2026. Under the existing policy, up to 25% of each batch may be retained in the regular cadre, subject to organisational requirements and performance.
The remaining 75% leave the services after four years. The review comes as the armed forces balance two objectives: maintaining a younger force and preserving operational experience and continuity. The services have been implementing Agnipath since 2022 and have used Agniveers in operational and support roles, giving them several years of experience with the scheme’s procedures.
Introduced in June 2022, Agnipath recruits men and women aged between 17.5 and 21 for four years, including six months of training. Those selected for permanent enrolment continue as regular service personnel. Those who leave receive a tax-free Seva Nidhi package, formed from monthly contributions by the recruits and matching government contributions.
The package is currently about ₹11.71 lakh. Personnel exiting after four years do not receive pension or gratuity benefits. The services’ recommendations are expected to inform possible refinements, although the government continues to maintain that there is no proposal to change the existing 25% retention limit.
This independently written report is based on information supplied by the named publisher. Vertrix News has not independently verified the source report.